Follow a SIG

INTRAPARTUM CARESusanna Timonen (Finland)


Susanna Timonen (chair)
Diogo Ayres-de-Campos (Obstetrician-Portugal)
Anneke Kwee (Obstetrician – Netherlands)
Christiane Schwarz (Midwife- Germany)
Christophe Vayssiere (Obstetrician – France)
Branka Yli (Obstetrician – Norway)
Austin Ugwumadu (Obstetrician – UK)
Vanessa Cole (Midwife – UK)
Inês Nunes (Obstetrician – Portugal)
G-Emmanuel Roth (Midwife – France)
Lena Hellström-Westas (Neonatologist – Sweden)
Jo Crofts (Obstetrician – UK)

AIMS: To disseminate knowledge related to intrapartum care in European countries, developing training, fostering research collaboration, promoting the development of technology, and elaborating international guidelines and clinical standards. To organize courses/ sessions within EAPM meetings. To organise the European Congress on Intrapartum Care (ECIC) every two years, under the umbrella of the EAPM.

MILESTONES 2019-2022: To develop European guidelines/position papers on the use of episiotomy, oxytocin augmentation and unnecessary caesareans. To organise the 2019 and 2021 European Congress of Intrapartum Care together with the European Midwives Association.



Frederic Chantraine (Obstetrician – Belgium)
LeneGroenbeck (Obstetrician – Denmark)
Sally Collins (Obstetrician – UK)
Guiseppe Cali (Obstetrician – Italy)
LoicSentilhe (Obstetrician – France)
Donal Brennan (Obstetrician – Ireland)

AIMS: To promote education and clinical science in the area of abnormalplacentation including placenta praevia, placenta accreta spectrum (PAS) and vasapraevia. We aim to improve the management outcome of these conditions by organisingEAPM courses on abnormal placentation; setting up a European database for PAS and vasa praevia cases; and by elaborating European guidelines on diagnosis andmanagement of placenta praevia and vasa praevia.

MILESTONES 2019-2022: To develop European guidelines on the diagnosis and management of placenta praevia and vasa praevia. To set upa European database for cases of PAS and vasa praevia.

PRETERM BIRTHBo Jacobsson (Sweden)


Neena Modi – vice-chair (Neonatologist – UK)
George Daskalakis (Obstetrician – Greece)
Jennifer Zeitlin (Epidemiology – France)
Marian Kacerovsky (Obstetrician – Czech Republic)
Magnus Domellof (Neonatologist – Sweden)
Harald Ehrhardt (Neonatologist – Germany)
Andrew Shennan (Obstetrician – UK)
Gian Carlo diRenzo (Obstetrician – Italy)
EsinKoc (Neonatologist – Turkey)
Ariadne Malamitsi-Puchner (Neonatologist – Greece)

AIMS: To promote clinical science, research, policy and educational activities related to preterm birth and its consequences in European countries. To promote interaction between the obstetrical and neonatal professions around the issue of preterm birth. To develop and support research collaborations, promoting the enhancement of technology, and in cases where it is relevant, to take part or to lead the development of European guidelines and clinical standards. To organize courses and sessions within EAPM meetings.

MILESTONES 2019-2022: To promote the development, use and improvement of national and regional pregnancy, birth, neonatal and childhood detailed quality registers and databases across Europe and to improve and harmonize exposure and outcome measures. To develop a European research infrastructure, primarily based on the use of routine data in registries and databases, with the aim of:i) better understanding the differences in preterm delivery rates and outcomes across Europe; ii) development of obstetrical and neonatal medicines and devices policies; iii) collect information on the use of pharmacologic agents and medical devices during pregnancy and the neonatal period and evaluate long-term follow up; iv) understand the impact of differences in financial resources, structures and quality controls on outcomes. To develop two European position papers.



Gherard Visser (Obstetrician – Netherlands)
Helen Murphy (Obstetrician – UK)
Eyal Sheiner (Obstetrician – Israel)
Fionnuala McAuliffe (Obstetrician – Ireland)
Magnus Domellof (Neonatologist – Sweden)
Elisabeth Mathiesen (Obstetrician – Denmark)
Federico Mecacci (Obstetrician –Italy)

AIMS: To disseminate knowledge related to hyperglycemia and obesity complicating pregnancy. To develop European guidelines for pre-conceptional, pregnancy and postpartum care. To develop guidelines for intrapartum care in diabetic and obese patients, with a special focus on performing cesarean section in the obese patient. To promote collaborationin research and development in glucose monitoring technology. To organize courses/ sessions within EAPM meetings. To organise the European Congress on Hyperglicemia and Obesity in Pregnancy every two years, under the umbrella of the EAPM.

MILESTONES 2019-2022: To develop European guidelines/position papers on hyperglycemia and obesity in pregnancy. To organise special courses for hands on treatment of type 1 diabetes mellitus and gestational diabetes, to establish a pump school for treatment of pregnant women with continuous subcutaneous insulin infusion.

CESAREAN SECTIONMichael Robson (Irland)


Lars Ladfors (Obstetrician – Sweden)
Jorg Kessler (Obstetrician – Norway)
Monica Piccolo (Obstetrician – Italy)
Diogo Ayres-de-Campos (Obstetrician – Portugal)
Miha Lucovik (Obstetrician – Slovenia)
Justina Kacerauskiene (Obstetrician – Lithuania)

AIMS: To promote standard methods for analysing and presenting cesarean section rates in Europe. To analyse other events, outcomes and complications associated with different cesarean section rates both in the short term but also long term.Ultimately to enable greater learning from each other in relation to management of labour and delivery.

MILESTONES 2019-2022: To ensure that most countries in Europe are using a standard classification for women being delivered by cesarean section, including a standard classification for the indication.

Flag Counter